A Blog as a Resume

10 02 2009

So I stumbled across this article –I think via Twitter–and have been meaning to dedicate some digital ink to it ever since. I think that this is a pretty great idea and, admittedly, is one of my reasons for blogging (albeit mostly to expand my own social network and do some personal thinking). I’m not saying that blogging is the answer to job search woes; however, I think the author makes some excellent points and does hit on some effective points.

Complementing Your Resume

I think the most important thing that a blog can do for a job search is as a complement to a resume. Let’s face it: you can only squeeze so much about yourself into a resume. What better way to complement that sheet of paper with a running log of original thought and commentary on issues that you are both knowledgeable and passionate about? It demonstrates dedication–and rightly so, as writing a blog is a lot of work, especially if you are doing a complete job with it. Even blogging two times per week is good for an additional few hours of work per work.

Raising Your Profile

I think that when paired with other social media tools such as LinkedIn or Twitter or Facebook, you can use a blog to network with other people in your field. Social media tools allow you to make connections to other similar people, even those who might find your skill set matches a need somewhere else. And more than that, given that most jobs are obtained through social networks rather than formal listings anyway. Blogs offer a good a mechanism for discussion and communication, and a good avenue for expanding one’s own network.

The Main Risk

Here’s where I think the author misses the boat on talking about blogs and searching for a job. To me, it’s not worth highlighting that it’s not a good thing to get into “You don’t want to get into political arguments, or include anything racy, or write about religion and politics”. I don’t say this because this is not an important topic; just that most people–especially those savvy enough to want a blog to share their thoughts–don’t need to be told that employers Google prospective employees. Frankly, having a blog can help you improve your “Google-ability” by returning your thoughts and work. (My Google search is covered, however, as a dude named Justin Frank pwns all my search results)

To me, the risk is that there is a distinct flavor of meritocracy in blogging. Put simply, blogs expose your thoughts, so it’s important that you blog about what you know. Exposing your thoughts on a topic should really only be done if you can effectively share ideas and insightful commentary. That being said, there’s a certain degree of confidence that comes along with blogging.