Marketing Innovation

20 02 2009

This could be a completely old cartoon that I just happened to discover yesterday, but I wanted to share it.  It’s from a strip called Brand Camp by Tom Fishburne:

When I first saw it, I thought about it’s message in context to wikis in the enterprise, and my team’s own experience in standing up a wiki inside our corporate firewall.   More specifically, I thought about it in context of the  Wikicities post from last week.  My version of the script is a bit different, however.  I think the most striking difference is that the last two frames are actually flipped.  In my case, we actually do a have a new product/service to offer–a dynamic knowledge creation and storage environment–but we end up marketing it down to a web-hosting solution in order to draw in more users, especially those who are more risk adverse (rightly or wrongly).  I think is just as important to consider has the above version of the comic: how do you manage the marketing of an idea so that we don’t limit our self to marketing apple sauce when we really have a shiny new apple? What’s the correct balance when marketing a wiki or blog?

It is of course easier to market new concepts in the terms of old and more familiar technologies.  A blog isn’t all that different from a one to many email, except that it publishes to the web instead of landing in an inbox.  A wiki is at it’s core a web-publishing technology that makes it incredibly easy to set up a website.  But they are of course more powerful than the technologies that they displace, when used correctly.

In the name of keeping this short (I know I tend to get wordy), I’ll sum it up with this: sometimes it is those who advocate new ideas who end up marketing new cars as faster horses.


Actions

Information

3 responses

3 03 2009
briandrake

This is the classic problem of trying to make a wiki look like a web page. I think there is something to the claim that look and feel matters. It’s hard to quantify, but look and feel certainly gets users in the door, whether or not they stay is still something I struggle to understand.

3 03 2009
jfranks03

I tend to think that look and feel won’t get you very far. I am of the school of thought that there has to be actual value in the content. For some reason, people tend to forget about this part of the equation and instead want to concentrate on bending the wiki to fit their concept of how the page should look. Think Craigslist: couldn’t be simpler, but is vastly successful.

15 07 2010
work at home income322

Continue the magnificent work!

here are a few words of chaos:
Rather useful piece

Leave a comment